Posted by: Aunt Magaidh | September 16, 2009

Little things

Some days are just a drag.  I’m experiencing that right now.  It’s been a rough week, and it’s only Wednesday morning.    (Let’s not even talk about the whole summer.  That just gets messy.)

I could give in to watching the tv in my jammies.  All day.  I could spend the entire day surfing the web and looking at every pattern on Ravelry.  I could just go back to bed.

But that is cowardice.

I’ve already missed the garden volunteering in Fremont…which was the moment I decided I need to adjust a poor attitude.  You see, deep down, I believe that we have whatever we need to make it.  We’re not supposed to surrender.  So I will focus on the little steps to pull myself out of the sucking soupy mud of self pity and boredom and anger about what is going on (or what isn’t) in my life.

  • I will go grocery shopping.  Just because my spirit is starving for good news doesn’t mean that my body, or my dear husband and clever daughter, should go hungry.
  • I will prepare to go to a solar demonstration this evening, googling the directions and map so I won’t get lost.  I am taking a friend who is also unemployed.  Learning something new is good.
  • I will do a load of laundry.  Clean clothes represent a new start.
  • I will change the water in my cat’s dish.  She is a good friend and should be valued.  She deserves cool, clean water.
  • I will wash the dishes.  I will meditate on the ability of water to flow around obstacles.  I will meditate that scrubbing can clean things.  I will ponder the meaning of gratitude and blessing when I put an empty bowl in the cabinet.
  • I will prepare dinner for my family.  And as I wash and chop and cook I will bear in mind that cooking is an act of love and healing.

Although I am in a thoroughly urban setting, I will remember that I can “chop wood and carry water”.  Sometimes, when things are rough, you just have to do what you need to do for that day.

Nuff said.  See ya later.

Magaidh

Leave a Reply

Categories

