Posted by: Aunt Magaidh | November 15, 2009

Intended knitting

Knitting at this time of year is tricky.  It’s the time of year when my “want to knit” list is fighting it out with my “need to knit” list.

I start off in summer coming up with a list of people who are to get homemade gifts for the holidays.  I start knitting the larger projects.  This year it was a shawl and a couple of lace scarves.  Lace is my latest focus on expanding my skills.  But by November, I’m beginning to find I really don’t want to do another pair of mittens, another hat, or slippers.  I’m tired of leafing through the one skein project books and pages on Ravelry.  I’m getting cranky about making something that is going to go live with someone else.

I’ve been making projects out of stash.  The balls of Cascade 220 are rapidly decreasing.  The Wool Ease is being stitched into durable goods for garment abusers.  The mystery balls of fingering and mohair are being transformed and released from my precious storage space.  I’ve sorted the drawers and totes into “stash to use up” and “stash to make something special for special people” and “stash for me”.

Last night I finished knitting yet another holiday gift.  All that is left is weaving in the ends.  It is a simple hat, but by the end, I was bored out of my gourd.  Part of the problem is that for the last few months, I’ve been knitting for other people.  I’m craving knitting something for myself.  I am craving something fine textured and jewel toned.  I am restless for something that is mildly challenging, but can be knit while sitting with my family watching a movie.  Something I get to keep.

I gave in last week and hit a local yarn store, called Piedmont Yarn and Apparel (http://www.piedmontyarn.com/).  It was an emotional reward for a stressful day.  I earned it.  I was incredibly disciplined.  I only bought 2 skeins of yarn, only used the birthday money a friend had given me.  It was horrible and wonderful.

They carry lots of yummy yarn there, but I kept being drawn to the yarn that is spun by the shop.  There was incredible sock yarn and laceweight, novelty boucle, fingering.  I settled on a ball of rosy red variegated sock yarn (450 yards, superwash merino) and a soft spring green laceweight (850+ yards, merino…yeah, I know…what exactly is 850+???).  They both make me happy.

rose sock yarn

One is nice and springy and a color that cheers me.
green lace
The other is comfort, soft and promising.  But now it’s finding projects for these special yarns.

But, alas, not yet.  I still have to finish some mittens and hats for family and friends. And I’ll probably sneak in slippers or socks.  If I’m lucky.

Magaidh

Leave a Reply

Categories

