Posted by: Aunt Magaidh | January 14, 2010

Small world

Sitting in my Northern California home, I think of the people crying for help in Haiti.  I am swept by the need.  I know the fear they feel – of how the earth can roar and buckle under my feet, washing all sense of solidity away like a giant gasp.  I relive my feelings of fear, remember the slow counting as I braced myself in a narrow hallway and waited for the shaking to stop.  I remember the silence of radios and televisions after the  earthquake, the feeling of isolation.  I remember fear as I tried to contact my loved ones.  I remember running to the neighbor and checking on her and together checking for damage to our houses and the smell of gas.   The fear growing when I heard a voice on the radio finally, but it talking about the Bay Bridge falling and fire in the cities.  The pancake of a freeway formerly known as the Cypress.  Oh, the relief as the familiar face of the local news anchor telling us to remember our training of duck and cover.  It took me weeks to sleep without the drone of the night talk radio host, just in case there was another quake.  That was 21 years ago – the Loma Prieta earthquake.

I can relate to the movement of the earth those people experienced, but I can’t imagine their pain.  Trying to find their missing families and friends in a land where everyone is lost.  Their homes and businesses reduced to rubble.  The tumbling down of their government palace.  The chaos, the noise, the dust.  The crying for help, the waiting for help.

I want to reach out and hold them, any one of them…and tell her it will be all right, even if it isn’t at this moment.  I want to let herknow that there will be daylight again.  That there will be a night when she can sleep deeply again.

Magaidh

If you are looking to donate to a relief agency for the people of Haiti, here is a link to Doctors Without Borders/Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF) – bless them for being there and already working when the earthquake hit. http://www.doctorswithoutborders.org/news/article.cfm?id=4153&cat=field-news

Responses

  1. You are one of the most kind and generous people I know. I am proud to call you a friend.


Leave a Reply

Categories

