Posted by: Aunt Magaidh | March 23, 2010

Argh! I’ve been kidnapped by the spring musical!

Okay, who decided that doing Les Mis at the high school was a great idea??

For those of you following my adventures, I’ve been absent from the blogosphere because I’ve set up a one woman costume sweat shop in my living room and diningroom.  I am sewing costumes for Les Miserable for the high school musical this spring.

My husband is a saint.

There are piles of cloth in one corner, boxes of fabric to sort in another, the sewing machine and various bits and pieces are on half of our dining table, the patterns, trim and inappropriate fabrics under the diningroom windows,  and the ironing board with a bag of cut projects in the living room.

The cat likes playing with the tissue paper patterns.

Why am I involved?  Daughter is the assistant stage manager this year and the drama teacher is new this year.  The play is scheduled for mid-April.  I volunteered about 3 weeks ago to bring in some costumes for loan and well…one should offer aid when they see other people overwhelmed.  Now…I’m the parent working with the teacher and student costume manager.

Man.  There are a lot of costumes in this play.

I’m supposed to get some help from other parents.  I’ve announced that we’ll have a sewing bee at my (small) house on April 3rd and 4th and – if the Universe, Gods and Goddesses, and Little Fishies are generous – we’ll blast through and get everything finished.  Cross your fingers for me.  Light candles, too.  Pray.

I believe in the arts in schools.  I think that parents should continue to be involved with their kids schools in middle and high school.  I think it helps the kids and the community.   (End of soap box speech.)

Enough.  I’ve got to find the scissors, my cell phone and car keys.  I think they’re under the stuff on the table.

See you when the lint clears.

Aunt Magaidh

San Leandro High School’s production of Les Miserable

is April 21st through April 25th.  $10/tickets.

Support the kids, go see their play!

Leave a Reply

Categories

