Posted by: Aunt Magaidh | April 7, 2010

What a proud mama feels

Recently Daughter participated in a one-day fast for nonviolence.  It was part of a week of fasting called Fast for Nonviolence, a project that the multimedia academy at her school was doing.  Each of the kids in her academy took one day to fast.  They did it in progression, one group of students fast on one day and then they are celebrated by the next group to fast on the next day.  They potlucked these evening meals.  At the end of the week there was a bonus fasting day where most of all the kids fasted.  Husby and I joined the fast in support.  Then they had a party feast after school.  When I went to drop off the fresh baked scones, I got to see the great energy the kids had about the project.

The fast was part of a larger project that is school wide, called the Season of Service.  Here is the website: http://www.slhs.net/200210121142512170/site/default.asp?

One of the assignments that included this service message in a class project was an animation about nonviolence.  Daughter and her classmates all made animations with a theme of nonviolence.  Topics ranged from random street violence to rape to racism to bullying.  They are pretty amazing…and so deep.  Here is the link for them.   http://www.slhs.net/200210121142512170/Blog/browse.asp?A=398&BMDRN=2000&BCOB=0&C=58722

Daughter showed Husby and me her animation for nonviolence.
Sam

Daughter chose to focus on a camping trip we took when she was about 6 years old.  We were coming to attend a Native American gathering we had been invited to and were at a small public campground when we encountered racism from another group of campers.  Those campers thought that we were Native American.   We aren’t,  but I figure since I “pass” for all sorts of things, I need to be the best ” (Fill in the blank with appropriate minority)” those type of people ever met.  (Check out my previous post about being Hapa to see where the thinking is about “passing” and being a racially ambiguous person.)

I never told her that I wasn’t scared.  I was.  She knew it and I wasn’t hiding that. What was important was that she saw me taking positive action.  I retreated from the intimidating campers, went and found my larger group and came back with support.  But it could have been easy to just check into a motel that night.  (Believe me, it was my backup plan.  I’m not stupid.  I had a kid to protect.)

I feel badly that the event scarred Daughter for life.  But I also think of the message she took away…that we have to stand up to racism, especially when it is subtle.   Too her credit, Daughter is strongly opinionated about what is right and wrong in how people are treated.  So it’s not surprising that she has found a home in the SLAM program and has taken those skills they are teaching her and turning them into tools for change.

I’m so proud of her.

Please, take a moment to look at the children in your life and consider what you are teaching them.  This is how the world changes for good or ill.

Magaidh

Responses

  1. Eep… my animation is online… To all those who watched it, I hope you enjoyed it, and I really hope the lip sync worked on your computers. I was really upset to find that at first it screwed up on my computer. I worked so hard on it!

  2. ::arms in the air:: Go SAM! Go SAM!


Leave a Reply

Categories

