Posted by: Aunt Magaidh | August 29, 2010

Happy Anniversary

It’s fall again – my favorite season.  The quince tree is loaded with big fuzzy fruit.  The birds are busy fattening up on the seed heads left on flowers and grasses. The crazy squirrel is back in yard chattering and chomping on the walnuts. The air is changing.

Again the vibration of the season is motivating me to gather my energy and focus.  Daughter is back in school and settling into her junior year.  She’s looking forward to learning about forensic biology, sitting in the first chair for flute,  and being the stage manager for the school plays.  Husband is working on a new exhibit at Chabot Space and Science Center.  It’s about climate change.  Bill Nye is the celebrity element kicking off the exhibit.  Go look.  http://www.chabotspace.org/index.htm

A year ago, I was trying to define how to feel productive while being unemployed.  I was looking for work and commiserating with a lot of other stressed out unemployed folks in our country and world.  I’ve since been on a few interviews – I think I got 4 total.  That’s one every 3 months.  Two weeks ago, frustrated with the continuing “black hole” syndrome of looking for a position, I posted a “job wanted” ad on Craigslist.  Last week I got an interview…and was offered a job.  Tomorrow, I start that new job.  Adventure!

A year ago, I started this blog with the aim of exploring blogging as a way to learn about myself and a new technology.  It’s been a year.  I’ve made it.  It’s the first anniversary of Aunt Magaidh’s House.  Wow.

A year ago, I was wondering if anyone would read my online meanderings.  Today I’ve had 4200 hits.  Amazement!  I am humbled by the response I’ve gotten.

Many of my readers come from the Renaissance faire world.  It is an audience I never expected, much less planned for.  But in the last year, I’ve made new friends and connections based on my involvement or observations about Ren faire.  I’ve discovered that the Rennie world is full of diversity and fun.  Most importantly, I’ve discovered a community that loves to PLAY.  That, my friends, is wonderous!  This planet needs more playfulness.

I’ve also gotten blog friends through the knitting and domestic god/goddess element of my readership.  It has made me more appreciative of the wonderful generosity of craft people.  I love the way people share tips or ask questions or learn through craft.  People who make things are special – whether it’s a sock, some jam, a lucet, or cookies.

I’ve had readers who just shared being on a similar path through our world…reaching out to earthquake victims, hoping for accessible healthcare, questioning tolerance of racism, volunteering in our communities, restoring our environment, or sharing a restaurant review.  You guys rock!

Dear Readers, thank you for coming this far with me.  I hope you’ve found me entertaining and thoughtful, or perhaps even helpful.   I look forward to the coming year sharing my thoughts and observations and questioning with you.   I’m so glad you found this little piece of the web…this little place called Aunt Magaidh’s House.

Magaidh

Responses

  1. Thank You:) Your Ren blogs have been insightful and informative. I wish they had been around when I was a newbie (actually, I think I still am a newbie:). It would have made things much easier to understand.

  2. You truly make my world a better place. Thank you for your positive energy and your talent and the willingness you have to share it. HUGS!


Leave a Reply

Categories

