Posted by: Aunt Magaidh | October 1, 2010

Straight, but not narrow

I am straight, but not narrow.

For years I’ve been a straight ally.  With the recent teenage suicides of kids who have been bullied because of their orientation, I felt that I just needed to say something.

To my family and friends…

I believe that bullying is WRONG, that name calling really CAN hurt someone, and that acceptance/tolerance of differences is important . If you can’t handle this about me, you should think about why we are related/connected to each other.

I’m not going to try to convince you to my way of thinking.   But I will share with you some of my points of view and experiences.

  • I have friends and family who are or were gay/lesbian/bisexual.  It is more important to me that we love each other for who we are and what we share rather than our sexual orientation.
  • I remember being in a nonprofit organization supposedly known for not being gender/sexual-orientation biased, and having a supervisor ask me if I was supporting gays because it was trendy.  I was appalled.
  • I’ve worked with gays, lesbians and bisexuals in my work places.  I have had students who were gay, lesbian or bisexual.
  • I grew up with a gay uncle in the house.  I spent my teenage years with a large extended family of gay men in my life.  My brother and I were the “adopted” nephew and niece of a number of gay men who had been disowned and discarded by their families because they were gay.
  • I have worked in very male-dominated/macho settings and had to bluntly tell coworkers that they needed to check their homophobic comments whenever they were working in my vicinity because it wasn’t appropriate and downright unwelcome.
  • I have told my kid – and the kids that are around me – that I can care less who they love/are attracted to as long as that person is good to them.  If  their partner isn’t good to them, then we have a problem.
  • I’ve told my kid that if any of her friends ever need a place to feel safe to talk about being LGBT, they are welcome in our home.
  • I have been a member of a “welcoming congregation” church – when I’ve been an active member of a church.
  • I believe that being straight, gay, lesbian, bisexual is NOT a lifestyle choice; it is how you are wired.  It’s part of your physical existence – and just as much of a choice as having brown or blue eyes.  And by the way – God doesn’t make junk.

Here are a few links where you can find information, should you be interested.

Please feel free to not read my blog if this offends you.  Peace.

Magaidh

Update 10/3/10:

There is a growing group of people who want to encourage our LGBT children to persevere and hold on to hope.  Here are a couple of links that have come to my attention in the last couple of days.

Thank you, people, thank you.

Responses

  1. Thanks, Kat. The world can use more of your kind. Your family, too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

