Posted by: Aunt Magaidh | February 3, 2011

Happy Year of the Rabbit

I didn’t quite get my act together for Chinese New Year.  Usually, I try to get a dinner sorted out, new clothing bought for Husby, Daughter and myself, get a couple of good luck decorations, and clean the house.  This year…well…

1) I invited my mom and a couple of family of choice to join Husby, Daughter, and moi at a Chinese restaurant in the neighborhood.  It worked out pretty well.  We came back to the house for dessert and tea.

2) Actually did get clothing for household.  With the new job, money isn’t quite as tight, so we got some nice bits this year instead of new socks like the last couple of years.

3) Nope…didn’t get the house clean.  I did yank out the vacuum cleaner and run it quickly over the public rooms.  Laundry has been an issue for the last couple of days.  Dishes are loaded in dishwasher, so I have a few minutes before Feb.3rd hits my neck of the woods.    The main thing is to not wash or sweep away the luck the first day of the year!  I think we can manage that.

But really – I’m so glad that Chinese New Year is a long drawn out affair of two weeks.  I’ll have time to make some of my favorite New Years dishes, hand out red envelopes to special people (li cee), and find a chain to hang the little jade pendant I found for Daughter.  Maybe this will be the year we take Daughter to San Francisco to see the Chinese New Year Parade.  And there will still be time to get the special foods that are in the bakeries and such in Chinatown.

But for now, this little Water Rabbit is just happy to welcome the Metal Rabbit year.  Let’s hope it’s a good one…a little time to catch our collective breath and get it together again.

Gung hay fat choy!

Magaidh   (aka, Chu Mei Ling)

P.S. – Here is one of the forecasts I found on the internet for the Year of the Metal Rabbit 2011, http://www.myqualities.com/forecasts/world-forecast-2011.asp If it doesn’t sound good enough, go find another!

Leave a Reply

Categories

