Posted by: Aunt Magaidh | May 31, 2011

Magaidh missing in action?

Yes, it may have seemed like I’ve disappeared, but no I’ve just been sucked into a whirlwind of activity.

There was the school play that I helped with…that took me from February to mid-May.  Pictures will be shared soon, I promise.

The following week there was preparation for Daughter’s junior prom.  Everything was going smoothly until we checked the dress.  Apparently she had a growth spurt in the preceeding couple of months and we hadn’t noticed it soon enough.  Yep, two nights before prom we discovered that the dress didn’t fit anymore!  Wednesday night we hit three stores, she tried on 36 dresses, and we bought 4 of them to take home and check with the rest of the ensemble.  Craziness.  But on Friday night she looked spectacular in her new dress.  Yes, pictures will be shared.

Then there was a weekend of Saturday having fiber fun with my friend Vonnie, followed by a Sunday rehearsal for a historically based Renaissance faire and a family reunion – in the same day.

Then there was last weekend going to Disneyland to watch Daughter and her classmates perform with their band, choir, and orchestra at the Disneyland park and California Adventure park.  That was four days of travel and park hopping.

Now, fresh from unpacking from that trip, I am packing my bags and baskets for going to Valhalla Renaissance Faire in South Lake Tahoe.  That will be two weekends!!  The first weekend I’m teaching a couple of wool spinning classes for the patrons and hanging out in the guildyard.  The second weekend I’ll just be hanging out with my guild and cooking and spinning.

But first – this Thursday evening I’ll be doing a spinning demo at Bancroft Middle School in San Leandro as part of their Empires of the World event.  This is when the kids show off their Medieval to Renaissance research projects.  It’s a blast to see what they come up with and it’s always fun to show the kids how to make yarn.

Anyway… that’s why I haven’t been blogging lately, but soon, very soon, I’ll be writing something about what’s coming up with the faire season!

Aunt Magaidh

Responses

  1. I’ve missed you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

