Posted by: Aunt Magaidh | November 24, 2011

Thanks

It’s Thanksgiving and I’m up and heating up the offerings we’ll take to my sister-in-law’s house this afternoon.  So in the meantime, I thought I’d take a moment to offer thanks.

I am thankful for the life I have.  I have a home, loving family, good friends, and reasonably good health.

I am grateful for a job.  It’s been stressful lately, but I’m lucky to have one.  I hope my out of work friends will be gifted with new jobs soon.

I am grateful for living in this country.  It isn’t perfect, but it is good. I offer a prayer of thanks to the Original Peoples of this country, who gave us a tradition of taking a time to offer the Creator thanks for all we have been provided.  I offer a prayer of peace for our country and the other countries around the world, especially those in conflict.  I offer a prayer of healing and understanding and…enlightenment for my own country as we struggle with the inequities of our communities, races and classes.

I am thankful for living in my community.  It is diverse and dynamic.  It allows me and my family to celebrate different cultures and ways of living.  Living where we are, we have more opportunities for inclusive rather than exclusive.  I think that is a good thing.

I am grateful to have enough to share.  The Universe – in it’s great plan – throws us reminders of what we have.  I’ve recently been given several reminders that although we are not wealthy, we have enough to share and therefore have the obligation to think of those people in our community who have less financial stability, shelter stability, health stability, and mental stability.  (Dear Universe, message received, thank you, and we will be taking action soon if not already.)

So, we’ll be driving up north – taking my mom and one of Daughter’s friends – and will participate in the “traditional” Thanksgiving feast with “traditional” football on the tv and all that other stuff. (I’ll be the one knitting or spinning in the corner and visiting with family and NOT planning on shopping tomorrow or watching the football games.)  But I’ll also be offering a prayer up to the sky thanking Mother Earth and Father Sun, and asking for blessings as we share bread with others.

Have a safe and warm and grateful holiday wherever you are.

Aunt Magaidh

Leave a Reply

Categories

